New Lens

I got a Tamron 150-600 mm lens for my BIG birthday.  It is huge and heavy, so I got something called a Gimbal to use it with my tripod.  I’m still getting used to the new set up, but here are some pictures.

DSC_0192House Finch on my feeder.  You can see his feathers clearer. He has a nice eye ring, too.

DSC_0193Mourning Dove on the electric wire.  You can see how his feathers are layered.

Then, on Saturday, we went to Don Edward EEC in Alviso.  We didn’t see too many birds in the water, but many Barn Swallows, Terns and Avocets were flying around.  It was a quite a show.  I couldn’t catch any Swallows.  They are way too swift.

DSC_0014DSC_0010

I think they are Forster’s Terns. They slowed down for us.

DSC_0016Avocet.  This was the first time I saw them fly.

DSC_0048

 

What are they doing?

DSC_0054-2

 

Canada Goose.  No. He wasn’t coming to get me.   He was on the other side of a pond, and getting away from another goose.

 

Image | This entry was posted in backyard, Don Edward EEC Alviso. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

