Rhinoceros Auklet @ Point No Point Lighthouse

Bob’s sister came to visit us last week, and we took her to Point No Point Lighthouse in Hansville, WA.  I forgot to take a picture, but the north side of the lighthouse is a sandy beach, and the south side is a marsh.   The weather was perfect.  Not too hot, and not too cold, so we sat on the beach for a several hours.DSC_0318

I noticed several of dark colored ducks were swimming, but I couldn’t tell what they were, so I took pictures.   It took a long time, but I found out that they are Rhinoceros Auklet.  This one is a breeding adult since it has s white horn at the base of it’s bill, and white plum of the face.  it took a long time to id this bird since it didn’t come up using the Merlin  app on my phone.  It wasn’t on Sibley’s Field guide, either, but I found it at ebird.org  (http://ebird.org/ebird/hotspot/L109542)DSC_0332

A Cedar Waxing was perched on a branch of a shrub in the mash behind the lighthouse.  I guess it wasn’t showing the red waxy tips on the wings.DSC_0374

When we reached the observation deck in the marsh, we noticed quite a few Great Blue Herons mostly in pairs.  I guess they have made a colony there, and are breeding!

DSC_0354

This entry was posted in Birding, Washington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

